The TRUST Blog
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (48) posts »

Power of Courage and Gratitude

Posted By Connie Delaney, Thursday, April 12, 2018
Untitled Document

The Forum lifted up powerful and inspiring stories of courage of Minnesota women in health care. When we gathered on April 11 we came from all sectors of Minnesota’s health care community, representing diverse career stages and leadership paths. Our common mission that evening was to celebrate women leaders who found the courage within to tackle risk, open themselves to vulnerability, and in that journey transform health and health care. Our common mission increased our awareness, engagement, and liberation through experiencing the potential of an integrated community dedicated to transformation through bold leadership.

The 2018 TRUST Courage Awards celebrated 20 incredible women who showed grit and determination, dared without fear and boldly transformed health and health care in remarkable ways. We are grateful that these courageous women in Minnesota health care chose courage, moved through fear and transcended challenges to inspire countless other women in the industry. Congratulations to the 2018 Courage Award recipients: Khadija Ali, Global Language and Staffing Connections; Jane Anderson, University of Minnesota School of Nursing; Julie Burton, ModernWell; Sara Criger, Mercy Hospital and Allina Health; Jill Davies, GeneMatters; Gina Tallarico Hall, HealthPartners; Lee Jones, Rebiotix, Inc.; Barbara Jordan, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine; Molly Joseph, UnitedHealthcare Global and UnitedHealth Group; Marie Manthey, Creative Health Care Management; Elizabeth Murphy, Be the Match; Leslie Pitt Schneider, Project Lolo; Jen Rosetta, Allina Health; Uzma Samadani, HCMC; Lisa Schafer, Teva Pharmaceuticals; Trisha Stark, Clinical Psychologist, Private Practice; Martha Turner, American Nurses Association Center for Ethics & Human Rights; Kari Willey, HealthPartners; Ghita Worcester, UCare; and Yvonne Ybarra, Be the Match.

We also celebrated and learned from Forum keynote Ann Bancroft – an exemplar of courage and transformation. Her Minnesota roots helped her link the wisdom of nature and humanity and find the courage to achieve greatness as an explorer, teacher, author and philanthropist. We are thankful Ann shared her stories of courage and breaking down barriers to inspire the Forum audience and motivate women and girls around the world to unleash the power of their dreams.

The evening celebrated the Jean Harris Award presented to Paula Hart and the 21st Century Pinnacle Leader Award to Patricia “Patsy” Riley. Paula, President and CEO of Volunteers of America – Minnesota and Wisconsin, and a past TRUST President, was recognized for advancing health care, embodying Jean Harris’s legacy of  inspiring leaders and others to shape a world with hope, honor, and dignity, and exemplifying the vision of the TRUST. Patsy, recently retired Senior Vice President and Chief Government Officer, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota, was honored as an outstanding leader who has paved the way for change and transformation in health care. Thank you Paula and Patsy for being exemplary health care leaders and, lifting up women in leadership; and congratulations on your achievements!

And we thank you to our sponsors whose essential support empowered the TRUST in offering a stellar evening of learning and networking for more than 900 attendees. These companies showcase the ongoing leadership in health care that makes Minnesota’s commitment to health renowned on the global level. The TRUST is deeply grateful for all of our Forum sponsors!

My final thank you is to the Forum Committee: Carol Kraft, Theresa Pesch, Dee Thibodeau, Aliza Bach, Christine Bent, Monica Engel, Cheri Jacoby, Kate Lanners, Diane Nanstad, Leslie Parran, Amy Ronneberg, Patricia Salkowicz, Kandace Schuft, Janet Stacey, Sherri Walsh, Mary Welsh, and Candee Wolf. This committee’s unwavering work and heart-driven joy brought the Forum theme to life and lifted up courageous women in health care.

I trust that each of you will accept opportunities to embrace courage, determination and inspiration to manifest your dreams and to transform Minnesota health and health care, planetary health, and most significantly cultivate exciting new directions.

Connie currently serves as TRUST President, and Professor and Dean at the School of Nursing at the University of Minnesota. Delaney holds degrees in nursing and mathematics, adult health nursing, educational administration, and informatics. Delaney’s work is expanding connections, collaborations, integrative informatics, and social structures which advance co-discovery of solutions that transform health and education systems.

 Attached Thumbnails:

Tags:  21st Century Pinnacle Leader Award  Ann Bancroft  Jean Harris Award  TRUST Courage Awards  TRUST Forum 

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)



Women's Health Leadership TRUST

Minneapolis, MN
 p. 609.799.4900 • Email Us
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linked In
  • Bebo